2014 National Contest Results

Solo Events

  • Jess Schweizer – 1st Junior Flugel Horn
  • John McAdam, Steve Miles, Errol Moore and Harry Smith – 1st Open Ensemble
  • Maddy Parkins-Craig, Georgia Watts, Catherine Clarke, Erin Lee and Aaron Hendry – 2nd Open Percussion Ensemble
  • Catherine Clarke – 3rd Open Percussion
  • Erin Lee – 3rd Open Eb Bass
  • Gordon Barney – 3rd Open BBb Bass
  • Kimberley Johnston – BBANZ Administrator of the Year
  • St Kilda Brass – Band of the Year

Historical Records

Band Events

Year Location Conductor Hymn Overall Marching
2018 Blenheim Peter Adams 6th 7th 7th
2014 Invercargill Peter Adams 9th 9th 6th
2013 New Plymouth Peter Adams 7th 7th 5th
2010 Dunedin Steve Miles 9th 9th Rained off
2009 Napier Steve Miles 3rd= 6th 5th
2008 Christchurch Steve Miles 3rd= 4th 4th
2007 North Shore Steve Miles 1st= 5th= 4th=
2006 Dunedin Steve Miles 10th 9th 3rd
2005 Wellington Peter Adams
2004 Christchurch Peter Adams
2003 Rotorua Peter Adams 1st 3rd 4th
2002 Invercargill Peter Adams 3rd
2001 Wanganui Peter Adams 4th 2nd 5th=
2001 Brisbane (Aus) Peter Adams 2nd 4th 3rd
2000 Christchurch Peter Adams 6th 4th 4th
1999 Auckland Peter Adams 6th 10th 4th
1998 Dunedin Errol Moore 4th 6th 5th
1997 New Plymouth Errol Moore 4th 5th Rained off
1996 Christchurch
1995 Rotorua Peter Adams 4th 10th 8th
1994 Invercargill Peter Adams 4th 5th 5th
1993 Wanganui Peter Adams 5th 2nd= 6th
1992 Auckland Peter Adams 9th 1st 4th
1991 Christchurch Peter Adams 5th 6th 7th
1990 Dunedin Peter Adams 4th= 8th 6th
1989 Wellington John Edgecombe 6th 7th= 8th
1988 Christchurch John Edgecombe 9th 6th 7th
1987 Auckland John Edgecombe 2nd 7th 5th
1986 Dunedin John Edgecombe 7th 8th 6th
1985 Wanganui John Edgecombe 6th 7th 8th
1984 Nelson Norman Thorn jr 9th 11th 8th
1983 Auckland Norman Thorn jr 7th= 5th 8th
1982 Dunedin Norman Thorn 7th 8th 6th
1981 Wellington Norman Thorn 9th 6th= 7th
1980 Christchurch Gil Morrision 9th 10th= 4th
1979 Hamilton
1978 Dunedin John Edgecombe 8th 10th 7th
1977 Wellington John Edgecombe 4th 5th 5th
1976 Christchurch John Edgecombe 7th 6th= 8th
1975 Auckland DNC
1974 Dunedin Neil Peacock 6th 6th= 8th
1973 Wellington DNC
1972 Christchurch Ken Aiken-Jones 5th 7th 8th
1971 Wanganui DNC
1970 Dunedin Ken Aiken-Jones 4th 1st 6th
1969 Rotorua Allan Francis 2nd= 3rd 2nd
1968 Christchurch Alan Francis 1st 5th 4th
1967 Wellington Allan Francis 1st 4th 3rd
1966 Dunedin K. G. Smith jr 2nd 1st 4th
1965 Auckland DNC
1964 Christchurch Elgar Clayton 2nd= 2nd= 3rd=
1963 Wellington Elgar Clayton 3rd 1st 2nd
1962 Dunedin Elgar Clayton 2nd= 1st 2nd
1961 Auckland Elgar Clayton 5th 4th 5th
1960 Christchurch Elgar Clayton 2nd 3rd 4th
1959 Wellington Elgar Clayton 9th 5th 4th
1958 Dunedin Elgar Clayton 3rd 1st 4th
1957 Napier Alan Brieseman 5th 2nd 2nd
1956 Invercargill K. G. Smith Jr 3rd 5th 2nd
1955 Auckland K. G. Smith Jr 5th 1st 2nd
1954 Christchurch DNC
1953 Wanganui DNC
1952 Dunedin K. G. L. Smith 5th 2nd 3rd
1951 Wellington K. G. L. Smith 5th 2nd 5th
1950 Christchurch K. G. L. Smith 3rd 2nd 7th
1949 Ballarat (Aus) K. G. L. Smith 1st 2nd
1949 Auckland K. G. L. Smith 2nd 1st 1st
1948 Dunedin K. G. L. Smith 4th 1st 1st
1947 Wanganui W. L. Francis 2nd 2nd= 1st
1946 Christchurch W. L. Francis 2nd 2nd= 1st
1945 World War 2
1944 World War 2
1943 World War 2
1942 World War 2
1941 World War 2
1940 Wellington W. L. Francis 6th 1st 1st
1939 Christchurch W. L. Francis 5th 3rd 1st
1938 Palmerston North DNC
1937 Nelson W. L. Francis 3rd 4th 4th
1936 New Plymouth A. E. Webb 4th 3rd 2nd
1935 Timaru James Dixon 5th 1st 1st
1934 Wellington James Dixon 9th 4th 1st
1933 Dunedin James Dixon 3rd 4th 2nd
1932 Wellington James Dixon 2nd 4th 1st
1932 Wellington James Dixon 2nd 4th 1st
1931 No Contest James Dixon
1930 Dunedin James Dixon 3rd 4th 1st
1929 Wanganui James Dixon 3rd 1st 1st
1928 Christchurch James Dixon 1st 5th 4th
1927 Wellington James Dixon 2nd= 4th 1st
1926 Dunedin James Dixon 3rd 2nd
1925 Auckland James Dixon 4th 5th 5th
1924 Christchurch James Dixon 6th 5th
1923 Dunedin J. Patterson 6th 5th
1922 Wellington DNC
1921 Nelson E. Smith 2nd= 8th
1920 Dunedin E. Smith 4th 7th
1919 World War 1
1918 World War 1
1917 World War 1
1916 World War 1
1915 World War 1
1914 Auckland E. Smith 5th 10th
1913 Invercargill DNC
1912 Dunedin E. Smith 1st 3rd
1912 Christchurch E. Smith 3rd 3rd
1911 Palmerston North DNC
1910 Dunedin E. Smith 3rd 3rd
1909 Hastings DNC
1908 New Plymouth E. Smith 1st No comp
1907 Christchurch E. Smith 4th DNC
1906 Hawera DNC
1905 Temuka E. Smith 1st 4th
1904 Gore E. Smith
1903 Port Chalmers E. Smith 7th